PDA

View Full Version : Pale male

count dewclaw
04-17-2008, 01:10 PM
Caught this pair of Easterns. As you can see the male is pale compared to the female. Would this be considered hypomelanistic? I'm just learning about the different color variations...

http://www.thamnophis.com/thamphotos/data//500/medium/palemale.JPG

Stefan-A
04-17-2008, 01:24 PM
In my opinion, you would have to know what the norm was in the population he's originally from. There are so many colour variations in the wild, that it's hard to tell which has "reduced black pigmentation" and which hasn't. It's all relative. :)

count dewclaw
04-17-2008, 01:28 PM
Well, I've never seen one this color before, but I hear what you are saying. I like his color anyway. I still have alot to learn about garter snakes.

Stefan-A
04-17-2008, 01:32 PM
Actually, I don't think it's that far from aSnakeLovinBabe's eastern.

http://www.thamnophis.com/forum/welcome-lounge/2378-hello-reptastic.html

http://www.thamnophis.com/forum/general-talk/2408-very-first-her-kind.html

count dewclaw
04-17-2008, 02:49 PM
I don't think he is quite that pale, but definitely lighter than any others I've seen. I'll try to get some better pictures.

Sid
04-18-2008, 04:01 AM
Great photo, LeAnn. I really like that male.:)

enigma200316
04-18-2008, 04:42 AM
nice snakes, that female looks huge,any possibility of being gravid? or a nice robust snake..........

drache
04-18-2008, 04:42 AM
I like them both, but yeah, the male's very pretty

count dewclaw
04-18-2008, 06:05 AM
nice snakes, that female looks huge,any possibility of being gravid? or a nice robust snake..........

Can they be gravid through brumation? I just caught her a couple days ago. I think she is just robust...the males were all over her ;). She is a big girl, I'm guessing about 30" long.

stonyloam
04-18-2008, 08:21 AM