PDA

View Full Version : Newly built screen with tub

Calift
07-01-2009, 07:29 AM
I just finished a mini project of adding a mesh screen to the top of a plastic tub. For the screen part (visible on the underside) I used a thick mesh, and glued it down with special plastic glue. Then I added a layer of cardboard over that, and then reinforced it with tape (with no sticky parts out)....then I covered the tape with a cardstock paper.

I'm new to this all.....and I don't want my girl to escape. Any suggestions for improvement?

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y77/cally_dog/CIMG6191.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y77/cally_dog/CIMG6190.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y77/cally_dog/CIMG6192.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y77/cally_dog/CIMG6203-Copy.jpg

gregmonsta
07-01-2009, 11:02 AM
Looking good so far ;) ... the lid is the most important thing ... just keep on top of checking it for gaps and making sure it's a snug fit.

Calift
07-01-2009, 11:36 AM
Will do....thanks for the tip!

Right now there's no heating.....I have several extra heat mats (and thermostat hook-up), think I should add one?

gregmonsta
07-01-2009, 12:21 PM
It's always best to have that thermal gradient ... only have about a third of the enclosure on the heatsource. You should aim for 30C at the hot end and 20C at the cold end. Be careful with your ambient temperatures too. If your room gets above 25C then so will the cold end of the snake enclosure. ;) be vigilant and you will find a balance in no time.

Millinex
07-01-2009, 01:06 PM
I picked up 3 large 30 gallon tubs a couple weeks back and found myself doing the same thing and it works great. As for heating I am not personally using any extra heating, somehow the idea of heat + plastic = bad in my book. I live in an area where it is already naturally very hot, and we do not have AC so my snake enclosures get into the 80s in the day anyway ;).

gregmonsta
07-01-2009, 02:57 PM