PDA

View Full Version : new snake

randyf1230
04-23-2007, 02:46 PM
Hello. I'm new to keeping snakes but my 13 year old son insists.

The garters are really becoming active in northern Illinois.

I was wondering if a recent wild caught 2ft. garter would have any problem sharing a 50 gallon home with a 6-7 in. Russian tortise.

Would one harm the other by disease?

They seem to avoid each other but do not behave agressively.

adamanteus
04-23-2007, 02:56 PM
Hi Randy, and welcome to the forum. I am unsure, never having tried it, whether Garters and tortoises would co-exist in the same vivarium. I'm sure someone on the forum will give you a complete answer.

I would just say this, if the Garter is wild caught I would feel inclined to keep it quanantined from other reptiles until you can be sure it is healthy and free of parasites.

Snaky
04-23-2007, 03:30 PM
It can go well, but this is not exact science:). Sometimes reptiles feel threatened by the presence of others, this can give a lot of stress. Stress can weaken the reptiles and make it more vulnerable. But I also know a case where I believe Varanus Prasina is living together with a t.s.parietalis for quite some time already and they don't seem to bother each other. In my personal opinion, I wouldn't do it.

Certainly quarantine him first, like James said. If he's wild-caught he might carry parasites or diseases.

And a good welcome to the forum from Belgium, enjoy it here :)

Stefan-A
04-23-2007, 03:33 PM
I don't know about the tortoises, but I've heard somebody theorize that red-eared sliders would be major carriers of cryptosporidium. Anyway, "slightly" off topic. :/

adamanteus
04-23-2007, 03:50 PM
I never mix species in my vivaria, let alone genera. I have no specific reasons for this...I just don't. Also would it not be true that a Russian Tortoise and a North American Garter Snake have rather different environmental requirements?

abcat1993
04-23-2007, 03:56 PM