Never shed

Bioactive Plant Help

I'm setting up a planted terrarium for the first time. I'm using NeHerp's temperate substrate, and I chose to use Phyla nodiflora since this is native to the snake's habitat (Cali Red-Sided). I have two plants, which I placed in the terrarium on Wednesday. I know that I can expect some minor die back as the plants acclimate to the terrarium, however as I've never done this before, I was hoping for some advice.

Here's how things currently look:

So, you can see that the rear plant has a couple bright green shoots, with a few that aren't looking so hot. The front plant looks more like the "bad" parts of the other plant, tho there's some bright green in there. Should I be trimming away those drier bits so the plant can better establish itself? Or should I give it time to come around on its own?

"First shed, A Success"

Re: Bioactive Plant Help

That looks great. I don’t keep my garters in bioactive setups yet because I’m waiting until they’re bigger. But as an avid outdoor gardener and houseplant person, my rule is to trim off any dying (brown, withered, dry, etc.) leaves and branches because they drain a plant’s energy and ability to grow or recover.

Sounds like that plant is a flowering plant. I typically find most plants that flower extensively are difficult to grow indoors without very powerful lights or very good sun exposure. Of course there are exceptions like African violets and orchids. Everything’s worth a try and I hope the plant works out well for you.

Good luck!

Never shed

Quote Originally Posted by MNGuy View Post
    That looks great. I don’t keep my garters in bioactive setups yet because I’m waiting until they’re bigger. But as an avid outdoor gardener and houseplant person, my rule is to trim off any dying (brown, withered, dry, etc.) leaves and branches because they drain a plant’s energy and ability to grow or recover.