Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    "First shed In Progress" TheArtist's Avatar

Finding Garters in Calgary?

Hey I am a aspiring photographer. I also happened to love reptiles. I live near the prairies and somewhat on the edge of town. I really would like to find some garters and photograph them but my problem is, I've only ever found garters when I was 6 and we went camping. i have no idea where to look! There is a wooded area behind the house and a large horse pasture nearby. But how do I find garters? Are there any signs to look for in a location to know if garter snakes live there? I'm super thrilled about taking photos of these awesome little snakes and I welcome all advice and help ^^!

"Second shed In Progress" Millinex's Avatar

Re: Finding Garters in Calgary?

I generally look for a water source and then just flip cover. Most of it includes rocky outcroppings on the sides of hills near water sources, big pieces of wood or sheets of tin are always great. Just go explore and see what you turn up, garters live all over and are very versatile!

does there need to be a water source around for there to be garters? And how much water is required? Theres a very small little stream in the forest behind my house, however it's not running, i think it's just a collection of rain water, but there is moss and grass around it, there may be a water source in the pasture but again i'm not sure.

Thank you for your help! I am looking forward to going out exploring to find garters!

"Second shed In Progress" Millinex's Avatar

Should be some there then, I find plenty of garters around creeks. There doesn't always need to be water. One of the parks I go to has no water source too closely to it, just a lot of rocks and hiding places, and there are still plenty of garters crawling around. ;0