Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

First time here.

My first post and this is my first time as keeper of the snake, or should I say slave to a snake since all he/she has to do is sit there and look pretty and I will wait on em’ hand and foot, literally. Today I stood there and hovered over the tank saying to myself, eat the worm, eat the worm, pleeeeease eat the worm, and TA-DAHHHH, it ate the worm. This made me the happiest person in the world. Okay, maybe that’s a little exaggerated, but just a little. I found this little one on Friday when we had a crazy warm day here in NC and this is the first time it ate. I’ve been trying worms every night, also guppies with no luck, but today a worm was consumed. I’ve also got some fresh tilapia and I’m hoping for the best. Some say feed every day, some say feed 3 times a week, so question one is. How often do I feed. Also I’m thinking the snake is to small for pinkies so until it grows I guess I’ll have to work with the worms and fish. I’ve been reading care sheets since Friday and a real concern at this point is telling the difference between earth worms and red wriggles. Is there a for sure way to tell?2-28-12a.jpg2-28-12.jpg

Re: First time here.

Welcome aboard.

Nice Storeria dekayi.

Nice to have you on the forum.
    Nice dekayi.
    Here's a link to the care sheet which will help you with your worm question.
    It's very important to feed the right worms.

Garter Snake Forum - Garter Caresheet
    Steve
    5 awesome kids!
    Emmy, Kale, Molly, Gabby, Hailee
    They are not just snakes. They're garter snakes.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/thamnophis14?feature=mhee

welcome! good to see another nc resident here! lovely little snake
    mike

"PM Boots For Custom Title" Selkielass's Avatar

What a pretty little Dekayi, I'd love to find one of those someday.

Welcome aboard.

Yes that is certainly a Storeria Dekayi, not quite a garter snake, so the whole Pinkie/fish thing is out the window.