PDA

View Full Version : When should I be concerned?

Beautifylgirl
11-18-2006, 10:44 PM
I just wanted to know when I should be concerned that my snake hasn't eaten? It's been a couple weeks since 'it' (verdict is still out) at. I normally feed fish because that's all I have avalible at the moment and 'it' really was enjoying hunting for them. But recently 'it' hasn't been interested. I finally took the fish out of her feeding dish and put them back in the fishtank. Should I start looking for worms outside, I may look tomorrow in the garden ( or whats left of it ) or should I go buy some frozen pinkies? I've never tried pinkies before so I don't exactly know how to feed them. Should they be completly defrosted or ??? I'm just not sure.
Monday I'm hoping my reptile vet should be in but I figured I'd ask here before I go bug her again. ( I've had 3 pets in the last 2 weeks into see her, problem children....:( )

If you all could give me some imput that would be great.
Thank you all,
Brittany

Cazador
11-18-2006, 11:41 PM
Hi Brittany,
I just looked through your old posts and didn't see anything to suggest that your snake had any other problems. Since you've had it for about 5 months, and it doesn't seem to have given you feeding problems before, it sounds like it just wants to brumate. To be sure, I'll give you a brief list of things to look for to ensure it's healthy before you put it down for brumation.

- Has its cage been kept clean?
- Any signs that it's preparing to shed?
- Does it gape its mouth when breathing?
- Does it always seem to have its head raised (pointing upward)?
- Does it have a ticking sound when breathing?
- Does it have any mucous around its mouth?
- Has it vomited?
- Have you seen any blood in its stool?
- Is the vent discolored or have mucous, puss, or dried feces around it?
- Are there any blisters, bumps, or raised scales?