New bioactive setup

I was inspired from a couple of threads I saw here and on other sites regarding a bioactive setup. This is my first attempt at creating such a setup, any advice/tips are greatly appreciated.

I started with an approximately 30 gallon tank (36x12x18in). I put a drainage layer of Hydroballs down (about 1in deep).
    http://i.imgur.com/FpsvLCs.jpg

I used a roll of screen door mesh and cut a separator to place in between the drainage layer and the substrate. I cut a hole in the screen and inserted a 1/2in PVC pipe with a cap, to allow adding/removing water from the drainage layer up.
    http://i.imgur.com/UlbUVCU.jpg

For the substrate, I purchased something called Reptisoil. It says it contain peat moss, sand, carbon, and soil. I'm having second thoughts about this substrate (see below), as I do not think the drainage is that great. The depth of the substrate varies, from 3in to about 5in. I created a hill on the left side and the back of the tank, with a valley in the front right.
    http://i.imgur.com/3Lvmhwh.jpg

For plants, I used the following: 2 pothos, 1 dracaena, and 3 small spider plant. I tried to then water the substrate, but the water mostly just pooled at the surface. Only in some areas did it actually drain to the bottom, and it seems to have stayed this way for a couple of days.
    http://i.imgur.com/yVuydJO.jpg

Then I added some springtails to the mix, and covered the top with some leaf litter and moss (in hindsight I should have used spaghnum moss, I picked up the one called "terrarium moss"). I am looking at adding some isopods as well.
    http://i.imgur.com/omlAHCp.jpg