Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Never shed

hello, new to owning snakes

Hi, like the title says i am new to snakes and have only owned the standard fish, bird, hamsters, rat, dog, and cats. Recently i had taken in a foot or so long garter snake, after research it i think it matched with the Northwestern Garter. i released it back where i found it and now i want to get a captive breed as a permanent addition to the household. i do have questions though and would love for you guys to help me out since I'm going in with no experience. also so far this site is amazing, i got redirected here multiple times while i was researching garter snakes.

Re: hello, new to owning snakes

Welcome aboard.

Adult snake

Welcome aboard!

Banned

Welcome!

Northwestern garter snake range is strictly west of the Cascades from extreme NW California to Coastal B.C. Canada, at low elevations. Just so you know. not sure where you are. they are extremely variable in color and pattern and so could be mistaken for other species that share their range.

I live in SW WA and it is by far the most commonly encountered reptile here. they can also thrive in urban or marginal habitats and subsist on just slugs and worms.

here's one I found in a small patch of landscaping in Downtown Vancouver, WA , an urban setting. This one happens to like fish as well as worms and slugs. Just the other day I saw one at the same spot only it was black with a yellow stripe.

I have also found stripeless, completely red, and solid black ones. Have any pics?

That's what I like about them. Variety!

Never shed