Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Where to get worms for food?

Hey, I'm new to garter snakes, never owned one before so I'm just reading up on care. I read that they can eat earthworms, somefish, and mice. but what I would like to know is where to get the earthworms. do I just find some from my yard or do I have to buy some somewhere?? can they carry parasites?? thanks to anyone who can help me out

Juvenile snake

Re: Where to get worms for food?

You can get them at Wal-mart. If you do make sure to get nightcrawlers (or baby nightcrawlers). You can get them from your yard as well, provided you don't use pesticides or other chemicals. Worms don't tend to carry parasites that do damage to garters to the same extent that other food sources do.

"PM Boots For Custom Title" chris-uk's Avatar

You don't say where you are from, so if you are in the UK you won't find worms in supermarkets. Best bet in the UK are fishing shops, or mail order - worms direct is one mail order company.
    Chris
    T. marcianus, T. e. cuitzeoensis, T. cyrtopsis, T. radix, T. s. infernalis, T. s. tetrataenia

An area where you're sure chemicals haven't been used
    Will

Quote Originally Posted by chris-uk View Post
    You don't say where you are from, so if you are in the UK you won't find worms in supermarkets. Best bet in the UK are fishing shops, or mail order - worms direct is one mail order company.
    How do you store the worms if you order from a mail order company? Thanks Chris

"PM Boots For Custom Title" chris-uk's Avatar

I get them from a local fishing shop as their prices are about the same as mail order, but I don't think it matters where they come from you just need to store them in a cool dark place.
    Chris
    T. marcianus, T. e. cuitzeoensis, T. cyrtopsis, T. radix, T. s. infernalis, T. s. tetrataenia