Thread: Not eating

Not eating

Hey im new to all this reptile care and what not but im ready to learn and do whatever it takes to keep my garter healthy , i got a baby albino checkerd garter today. hes very skiddish and wont let me touch him, he wont bite or anything just skiddish which is what i kinda expected. the problem is that i got him some minnows today and he wont eat. he will occasionaly climb the water dish and look into the water but never attempting to catch the fish. i would dangle one infront of his face and he seemed to be interested and bit once but then never came back to even look at it again. i chopped it in half and left it in a little dish incase he wasnt used to the live fish but still no luck. is it just him getting used to his new home and me over reacting? I also dont know if the website i ordered him from had feed him before shipping him out. Thanks!

"PM Boots For Custom Title" chris-uk's Avatar

Re: Not eating

Welcome to the forum. Relax, you haven't said anything above that would make me at all concerned.

First thing. He's in a new home, having been shipped to you (I assume this as you said you got him from a website). That's a traumatic experience for him and he will need time to settle in to his new home. I wouldn't even attempt to feed him for 3 days, but it wouldn't be unusual for him to refuse food for a week or more.
    Do you know what he was being fed before you got him? Start by feeding him exactly the same as he's used to. If he isn't used to live minnows they aren't so likely to trigger his feeding response.
    What sort of minnows are you feeding and where did you get them from? Some minnows contain an enzyme called thiaminase, which will kill a garter if you feed them on them long term. The caresheet explains about thiaminase in fish so I won't repeat it.