Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi, I'm New Here!

Hello! Thanks for having me - I'd love some recommendations on Garter species!

Hello everyone! Glad to be here... My name is Madison. I'm a sci-fi nerd, collect oddities, and I've been keeping reptiles for about 15 years now- and currently own Leachianus geckos, Crested geckos, Jeweled Lacertas, Western Hognoses, and bally pythons.

I'm really wanting to get a pair or trio of garters that can cohab in a display tank. Species that are okay with cooler temperatures are ideal, as I try not to get my apartment TOO hot because of my geckos, but if I need to keep the snakes in a separate room I can. A big thing is I LOOOOVE Blue on snakes. The more blue, the better. Bright red is a close second. I've been eyeballing the California Red Sided Garters, but I'm not sure the legality of keeping/breeding/selling them in California and if someone could help clarify that it'd be greatly appreciated as well... And lastly, I'm hoping for snakes that will make nice display animals and "hang out" and not just hide all day. Let me know what you're thoughts are! Thank you!

Re: Hello! Thanks for having me - I'd love some recommendations on Garter species!

Welcome.
    The California Red Sided Garter (Thamnophis sirtalis infernalis) is perfectly legal to keep in the states and I'm pretty certain it is the same in California. I could be wrong and if I am please someone correct me. However the San Francisco Garter, (Thamnophis sirtalis tetrataenia) is illegal to keep in the states due to its status as an endangered subspecies. Both are pretty similar in appearance. There are other blue garters such as the Puget Sound and Florida Bluestripe but I'm not sure how easy it would be to acquire them.